Canadian Fellowship Programs

MIGS Fellowship Program of the Month - May 2020

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

The AAGL accredited laparoscopic training program at Sunnybrook was established in 2002 and is one of the oldest original AAGL Fellowship Training Programs in North America.

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre is a large urban tertiary care teaching facility, fully affiliated with the University of Toronto. Our facilities and our large group of world class laparoscopic gynecologic surgeons enable us to offer a diverse and comprehensive two year fellowship training program. It is the hope that once an individual finishes their fellowship training that they will be able to act as a resource person in their own institution and develop a minimally invasive surgery program. We strive to expose our fellows to as many difficult cases as possible within a 24-month period with various staff surgeons who are experts in their fields.  This facilitates rapid progress along the learning curve and eventually the technical proficiency to perform procedures with the assistance of senior residents. Our fellowship program includes advanced laparoscopic surgery in the areas of endometriosis and infertility, laparoscopic hysterectomies, alternatives to hysterectomy (e.g., myomectomy), operative hysteroscopy, bladder and bowel surgery for endometriosis, as well as urogynecology and pelvic reconstruction.  The program is 2 years in length with a staggered first and second year fellow. There is an expectation is that fellows will complete a relevant Master’s program (unless previously completed) concurrently in the two year period.  The Master’s program will be funded up to a maximum of $5000.

Our fellows are prolific in their research endeavours and present annually at the University of Toronto Research Day, CanSAGE Conference, and the AAGL Global Congress.

There is a university surgical skills lab located offsite that fellows are encouraged to utilize to practice laparoscopic suturing techniques. In addition, we have a high-fidelity laparoscopic simulator which is located on-site in our department at Sunnybrook. The Fellow has unrestricted access to the simulator in order to hone their laparoscopic skills.  Attendance at the annual AAGL Global Congress meeting and AAGL Fellows Bootcamp is an expectation (with expenses reimbursed).

Toronto is a dynamic metropolis. There is something for everyone here including world class restaurants, arts, culture, theatre and music. We are home to the NBA Champion Toronto Raptors, the Maple Leafs, Blue Jays, Toronto FC and many other professional sports teams. Dwarfed by the iconic, free-standing CN Tower, Toronto also has many green spaces, from the orderly oval of Queen’s Park to 400-acre High Park and its trails, sports facilities and zoo.


Dr. Herbert Wong, MD, MSc
Program Director
AAGL Fellowship Graduate    
Assistant Professor

Dr. Grace Liu, MD, MSc

AAGL Fellowship Graduate
Assistant Professor 

Dr. Rose Kung, MD

Assistant Program Director
Assistant Professor 

Dr. Jamie Kroft, MD, MSc

AAGL Fellowship Graduate
Assistant Professor

Dr. Leslie Po, MD, MSc

AAGL Fellowship Graduate

Assistant Professor U of T.

Dr. Patricia Lee, MD, MSc

Urogyn Fellowship Program Director 

Assistant Professor U of T.

Dr. Janet Bodley, MD, MEd

Fellowship in Urogynecology
Assistant Professor

Dr. Louise Gagnon, MD, FRCSC

Fellowship in Urogynecology

Assistant Professor U of T.

Current Fellows

Courtney Joliffe  – 2nd Year Fellow

Neetika Sidana  – 1st Year Fellow

Past Fellows

2019    Carmen M. McCaffrey – Staff - St. Michael’s Hospital, Toronto
2018    Michael Secter – Staff – Foothills Medical Centre, Calgary
2017    Brian J. Liu – Staff – St. Joseph’s Health Centre, Toronto
2016    Leslie Po – Staff – Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto
2013    Miriam Ang – Staff – Etobicoke General Hospital, Etobicoke
2012    Alice Pham – Staff – North York General Hospital, North York
2011    Jamie Kroft – Staff – Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto
2010    Rebecca H. Arthur – Staff REI – Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto
2009    Clarissa Bambao – Staff – St. Joseph’s Health Centre, Toronto
2008    Oleksandr Svystonyuk – Staff – Southlake Regional Healthcare Centre
2007    Sabrina K. Lee – Staff – North York General Hospital, North York
2006    Romy Nitsch  MIS Program Director – Kingston General Hospital
2004    Yoav Brill 
Staff – Markham-Stouffville Hospital
2003    Mary Melchior – MIS Program Director – St. Joseph’s Healthcare Centre