CanSAGE at home Virtual Program

All sessions will be recorded; presented in English

Updated: October 5, 2020

#cansageathome

Accreditation

CPD certificates will be emailed to you by the end of October.


This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by the SOGC. You may claim a maximum of 5.75 hours (credits are automatically calculated).
 

This activity is an Accredited Self-Assessment Program (Section 3) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by the SOGC. You may claim a maximum of 2 hours (credits are automatically calculated).


Through an agreement between the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the American Medical Association, physicians may convert Royal College MOC credits to AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. More information on the process to convert Royal College MOC credit to AMA credit.  Read more on the Royal College agreement with the American Medical Association. 

We encourage you to engage on the CanSAGE forum, follow @CanSAGE on Twitter, and ask questions via email.

Friday, September 25


13:00 – 13:10 PT  |  16:00 – 16:10 ET

WELCOME AND OPENING REMARKS  
Dr. Catherine Allaire and Dr. John Thiel
 – 10 mins

13:10 – 13:50 PT  |  16:10 – 16:50 ET

PLENARY

Digital distractions and the impact on your brain – Dr. Paul Mohapel – 30 mins + 10 mins Q+A / session evaluation

Moderator: Dr. Catherine Allaire
Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Report on recent startling research about some of the negative impacts digital distraction and multitasking is having; Report on recent scientific data on the risks technological devices are having on our behaviour and neurological capacities; Provoke thoughtful dialogue and more mindful approaches to using technology both at work and in our homes; Provide strategies to create more balanced and healthy interactions with technology; Promote a more mindful approach to our devices at work and at home.

13:50 – 14:00 PT  |  16:50 – 17:00 ET

Friday Break 1 – Exhibit, networking, gamification and transition to next session – 10 mins

14:00 – 14:30 PT  |  17:00 – 17:30 ET

PLENARY
When complications happen: How to get back on your horse – Dr. Resad Pasic
 – 20 mins + 10 mins Q+A / session evaluation

Moderator: Dr. Huse Kamencic

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Identify different complications of minimally invasive gynecologic surgery such as bowel injuries, vascular injuries, genito-urinary injuries; Assess the treatment options for those injuries as well as strategies how to prevent those complications.
The target audience for this session are; practicing gynecologists, residents and fellows.

 

14:30 – 15:00 PT  |  17:30 – 18:00 ET

AWARD SESSION
Top 6 video presentations – Part I​ 
– maximum 21 mins + 4-6 mins Q+A / session evaluation

People's Choice: V1 – Laparoscopic excision of pericardial and diaphragmatic endometriosis – Dr. Dong Bach Nguyen

V2 – Laparoscopic ureteroureterostomy to treat severe ureteral endometriosis – Dr. Rahana Harjee

V3 – Surgical management of interstitial ectopic pregnancy – Dr. Caitlin Jago

Moderator: Dr. Michael Suen

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Deliver immediate, constructive feedback on video presentations. This session is designed for learners and non-learners. 

15:00 – 15:10 PT  |  18:00 – 18:10 ET

Friday Break 2 – Exhibit, networking, gamification and transition to next session – 10 mins

 

15:10 – 15:40 PT  |  18:10 – 18:40 ET

CHAT ROOMS

Concurrent interactive breakout sessions – 30 minutes including Q+A / session evaluation

Barriers and challenges in adopting MIS in my centre, strategies for success – Dr. Neeraj Mehra and Dr. Elizabeth Randle
Moderator: Dr. Meghan O'Leary

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Analyze barriers to implementation of MIS surgery and peri-operative care pathways; Develop strategies and utilize peer resources to promote adoption of MIS at their local centre.

The truth behind fibroids and infertility: Myth or facts? – Dr. Adrian Gamelin
Moderator: Dr. Chandrew Rajakumar

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Identify the types of fibroids which may interfere with normal fertility; Describe the optimal management of such fibroids; Determine which fibroids may not require active intervention to improve fertility. Target audience: Obstetrician gynecologists, minimally invasive gynecologic surgeons, obstetrics and gynecology residents and fellows.

Alternatives for treatment of fibroids – Dr. Darrien Rattray and Dr. Mohammed Nayeemuddin
Moderator: Dr. Deanna Buitenhuis

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Know the indications and limitations for UAE; Know the technique/steps of UAE by case example; Compare UAE with surgical techniques; Identify the role for laparoscopic radiofrequency ablation (RFA) in the management of fibroids; Select the appropriate patient for RFA; Summarize the evidence for RFA; Review answers to the questions posed by the group in advance of this session.

15:40 – 15:45 PT  |  18:40 – 18:45 ET

Friday Break 3 – Transition to next session – 5 mins

15:45 – 15:50 PT  |  18:45 – 18:50 ET

Welcome back – Dr. John Thiel – 5 mins

 

15:50 – 16:20 PT  |  18:50 – 19:20 ET

PLENARY
Is there a place for OCP in endometriosis care? – Dr. Robert Casper 
– 20 mins + 10 mins Q+A / session evaluation
Moderator: Dr. Paul Yong

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Describe the aberrant hormonal receptor make-up of endometriosis implants; Discuss the lack of evidence for a beneficial effect of oral contraceptives for treating endometriosis; Present a rationale for the use of progestin-only pills as a first line treatment for endometriosis. 
Target audience: Family doctors, OB/GYN specialists, residents and students.

 

16:20 – 16:50 PT  |  19:20 – 19:50 ET

AWARD SESSION

Top 6 video presentations – Part II​ – maximum 21 mins + 4-6 mins Q+A / session evaluation + People's Choice vote for top video

V4 – Laparoscopic excision of noncommunicating uterine horn pregnancy – Dr. Wilson Ventura Chan

V5 – The visceral slide test and the prediction of intraadominal adhesions – Dr. Peter Thiel

V6 – Laparoscopic ilioinguinal nerve excision – Dr. Meghan O'Leary
Moderator: Dr. Michael Suen

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Deliver immediate, constructive feedback on video presentations. This session is designed for learners and non-learners. 


 

16:50 – 16:55 PT  |  19:50 – 19:55 ET

Day 1 closing; Invitation to social engagement hour – Dr. John Thiel – 5 mins

16:55 – 17:00 PT  |  19:55 – 20:00 ET

Friday Break 4 – Transition to CanSAGE social engagement hour – 5 mins

17:00 – 18:00 PT  |  20:00 – 21:00 ET
NETWORKING – Grab a beverage and relax and join your colleagues!

Social engagement hour hosted in different Zoom meetings by virtual concierge  – 60 mins

  • Take Me Away: Favourite Travel Destinations and Tales | Virtual Concierge: Dr. Catherine Allaire 
    Have your pictures ready to share!

  • The Best Meal I Ever Had | Virtual Concierges: Dr. John Thiel and Dr. Darrien Rattray
    We will discuss our favourite meals that we cook or that we have eaten, the wine or cocktails that paired with it and hopefully will share a few of our kitchen secrets.

  • Trading Horror Stories (confidentially of course) | Virtual Concierge: Dr. Sari Kives
    We will discuss discuss difficult cases that may have not gone as planned and reflect on outcomes and how this may have affected our personal growth in practice.

  • We will survive / Ça va bien aller : Quebec and Covid-19  (bilingue) | Virtual Concierge: Dr. Chantal Rivard 
    Learn from Quebec's (bad) example and share your local experience.

  • So You Want to do MIGS | Virtual Concierge: Dr. Meghan O'Leary 
    If you are considering a practice with lots of laparoscopy, or have ever thought about an a MIGS fellowship, join us to chat. Med students, residents, fellows - we can't wait to meet you!

  • Setting Up Shop; Life as a New MIS Surgeon | Virtual Concierges: Dr. Jessica Papillon Smith and Dr. Michael Suen.
    Oh, the trials and tribulations! You are not alone.
    Join us to chat about the challenges and victories you've encountered during your first few years of practice.

Saturday, September 26

06:45 – 07:30 PT  |  09:45 – 10:30 ET

Industry Sponsored Breakfast Symposium – 45 mins


07:30 – 08:00 PT  |  10:30 – 11:00 ET

CanSAGE Annual General Meeting – Dr. Catherine Allaire – Open to all CanSAGE members – 30 mins

08:00 – 08:10 PT  |  11:00 – 11:10 ET

Saturday Break 1 – Exhibit, networking, gamification and transition to next session – 10 mins


08:10 – 08:15 PT  |  11:10 – 11:15 ET

Welcome back – Dr. John Thiel – 5 mins

 

08:15 – 08:50 PT  |  11:15 – 11:50 ET

PLENARY 
Vaginal / laparoscopic surgery where they meet in the middle – Dr. Jan F. Baekelandt 
– 25 mins + 10 mins Q+A / session evaluation
Moderator: Dr. Jonathon Solnik

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Identify the major challenges in vaginal surgery and articulate various techniques to overcome these challenges; Articulate steps to perform vNOTES hysterectomy and adnexectomy safely and efficiently; Identify, prevent, and manage complications in vNOTES and vaginal surgery.

08:50 – 09:00 PT  |  11:50 – 12:00 ET

Saturday Break 2 – Exhibit, networking, gamification and transition to next session – 10 mins


09:00 – 09:30 PT  |  12:00 – 12:30 ET

PLENARY  
Laparoscopic cerclage: Last "stitch" resort – Dr. Nicholas Leyland and Dr. Grace Liu
 – 20 mins + 10 mins Q+A / session evaluation
Moderator: Dr. Chantal Rivard

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Identify patients for whom such a procedure will be successful; Describe a method to perform a laparoscopic abdominal cerclage; Summarize the indications for abdominal cerclage as an interval procedure; Compare technique options during pregnancy.

 

09:30 – 10:10 PT  |  12:30 – 13:10 ET

AWARD SESSION

Top 5 research presentations​ – 25 mins + 5-10 mins Q+A / session evaluation + 5 mins People's Choice vote for top research

O1 – Outcomes following surgical management of pelvic pain: A prospective cohort study – Dr. Caroline Lee

O2 – Risk factors for urologic injury in women undergoing hysterectomy for benign indication – Ms. Ameeta Nayak

People's Choice: O3 – A randomized controlled trial comparing presacral nerve block to sham block on post-operative pain in women undergoing total laparoscopic hysterectomy – Dr. Andrew Zakhari

O4 – A validation of gynecologic procedural codes in the Canadian Institutes for Health Information Discharge Abstract Database – Dr. Magdalene Payne

O5 – Predictive variables for postoperative opioid requirements following hysterectomy – Dr. Samantha Benlolo
Moderator: Dr. Justin Mui

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Deliver immediate, constructive feedback on oral and video presentations; Share the implications of this research within their own institutions. This session is designed for learners and non-learners. 

 

10:10 – 10:15 PT  |  13:10 – 13:15 ET

Saturday Break 4 – Transition to next session – 5 mins


10:15 – 10:55 PT  |  13:15 – 13:55 ET 

PLENARY ​ 
Complex care in complex ­patients

  • Adolescent – Dr. Lisa Allen – 10 mins + 5 mins Q+A

  • Transgender patient – Dr. Fiona Mattatall – 20 mins + 5 mins Q+A / session evaluation

Moderators: Dr. Jessica Papillon Smith and Dr. Sari Kives

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Recognize the key features on history that suggest secondary dysmenorrhea in an adolescent; Tailor therapy to the adolescent patient with pelvic pain; Recognize the role that ObGyn’s play in transgender health; Reflect on how they can make their practice more inclusive; Formulate an approach to request for hysterectomy in a transgender patient.

 

10:55 – 11:05 PT  |  13:55 – 14:05 ET

Saturday Break 5 – Exhibit, networking, gamification and transition to final session – 10 mins


11:05 – 11:10 PT  |  14:05 – 14:10 ET

Welcome back – Dr. John Thiel – 5 mins

 

11:10 – 11:45 PT  |  14:10 – 14:45 ET

DEBATE 

Is there a role for robotics in gynecology? – Dr. Sari Kives and Dr. Fady W. Mansour – 30 mins + 5 mins vote
Moderator: Dr. Sukhbir S. Singh

Learning Objectives: At the conclusion of this activity, the participant will be able to: Identify the benefits and drawbacks of robotic surgery; Select the appropriate candidates for robotic surgery;
Reflect on the overall importance of Minimally Invasive Surgery
.

 

11:45 – 12:05 PT  |  14:45 – 15:05 ET

CLOSING 

Announcement of CanSAGE2021 and Gamification Prize Winners – Dr. Sari Kives – 10 mins

CanSAGE People's Choice Awards and Closing – Dr. Catherine Allaire and Dr. John Thiel – 10 mins

Video library presentations – cansagevideos.com


V7 – Laparoscopy in the pregnant patient – Dr. Samantha Benlolo
 

V8 – Step-by-step guide to the surgical management of interstitial ectopic pregnancy – Dr. Humara Edell
 

V9 – Parametrial endometriosis part 1: A correlation of parametrial anatomy and disease presentation – Dr. Darl Edwards
 

V10 – Parametrial endometriosis part 2: Clinical diagnosis and correlation of medical imaging with laparoscopic findings – Dr. Darl Edwards
 

V11 – Parametrial endometriosis part 3: Introducing a nerve sparing technique to the parametrectomy – Dr. Darl Edwards
 

V12 – Conservative laparoscopic treatment of adnexal torsion at 35+5 weeks' gestation – Dr. Nadiya Goswami
 

V13 – Bowel complications in laparoscopic gynecologic surgery – Dr. Anna Kobylianskii
 

V14 – Laparoscopic cervical myomectomy with pre-operative uterine artery embolization and concomitant cerclage – Dr. Sarah Maheux-Lacroix
 

V15 – A purse-string approach to laparoscopic cornuostomy for interstitial ectopic pregnancy – Dr. Meghan McGrattan
 

V16 – Intrauterine morcellation at laparoscopic myomectomy – Dr. Meghan O'Leary
 

V17 – A stepwise approach to trachelectomy – Ms. Leah Rusnell
 

V18 – Ultrasound-guided hysteroscopy following endometrial ablation – Dr. Sarah Smith
 

V19 – Recreating pelvic supports after total laparoscopic hysterectomy – Dr. Chelsie Warshafsky
 

V20 – Adnexal torsion: Surgical considerations in early and late pregnancy – Dr. Chelsie Warshafsky

ePoster library presentations – cansage.multilearning.com/cansage

2001 – The effectiveness of tricyclic antidepressant in patients with overactive bladder and nocturia – Dr. Nadin Alghanaim
 

2002 – Role of interleukin-1β in nerve growth factor expression, neurogenesis and deep dyspareunia in endometriosis – Mr. Fahad Alotaibi
 

2003 – Change in technicity index as a marker of quality of care in a tertiary care centre – Dr. Kristina Arion
 

2004 – Decreasing opioid prescriptions post-hysterectomy: Development of the Tailored Opioid Reduction Strategy (TORS) protocol – Dr. Samantha Benlolo
 

2005 – The use of intraoperative cystoscopy during total laparoscopic hysterectomy: A Canadian survey – Dr. Simon Benoit Dube
 

2006 – Risks factors for venous thromboembolisms in patients with large uterine fibroids: Systematic review – Dr. Emmy Cai
 

2007 – Opioid prescribing practices for women undergoing elective gynecologic surgery – Dr. Wilson Ventura Chan
 

2008 – Evaluation of the morbidity associated with routine intraoperative cystoscopies performed following total laparoscopic hysterectomies – Dr. Sara Dakhlallah
 

2009 – What are patients reading? Quality assessment of endometriosis information on the Internet – Ms. Kelsey Shea

2010 – Chronic opioid prescriptions and their potentially detrimental effects on surgical outcomes of the LaNSURe technique for parametrial endometriosis – Dr. Darl Edwards
 

2011 – The Laparoscopic Nerve Sparing Ultralateral Resection (LaNSURe) of parametrial endometriosis – A retrospective review of this novel technique – Dr. Darl Edwards

 

2012 – Uterine stiffness measured in vivo: Implications for assessing gynecologic pathologies – Dr. Teresa Flaxman
 

2013 – Pre-surgical planning using patient-specific 3D printed anatomical models for women with uterine fibroids – Dr. Teresa Flaxman

 

2014 – Severe dysmenorrhea is the primary contributor to low physical quality of life in Canadian women with endometriosis – Dr. Teresa Flaxman

 

2015 – Long term follow up on the performance and effectiveness of the LiNA Librata endometrial ablation system – Dr. Claude Fortin
 

2016 – Online patient information for hysterectomies: An environmental scan of readability and quality – Ms. Mehr Jain
 

2017 – A comparison of surgical outcomes between the routes of benign hysterectomy in women with at least one previous cesarean section – Dr. Courtney Jolliffe
 

2018 – Content assessment of online surgical education videos for Total Laparoscopic Hysterectomy (TLH) – Mr. Khizar Karim
 

2019 – Readability, quality and adherence of online patient education materials for the medical, surgical and interventional treatment options for leiomyoma – Mr. Khizar Karim

 

2020 – Surgical outcomes of concurrent prophylactic mastectomy and oophorectomy compared to mastectomy and hysterectomy: A NSQIP database analysis – Dr. Ai-Lien Le
 

2021 – A retrospective analysis of urinary retention after laparoscopic non-nerve sparing definitive surgery for stage III and IV endometriosis – Dr. Tinya Lin
 

2022 – Outcomes in patients undergoing robotic assisted laparoscopic hysterectomy with endometrial hyperplasia or grade 1 endometrial adenocarcinoma – Dr. Laura Mcleod
 

2023 – Utilizing OR Black Box technology to identify and characterize intraoperative delays, distractions and threats in the gynecology OR: A pilot study – Dr. Alysha Nensi
 

2024 – Patient-oriented knowledge translation: A new online resource for people affected by endometriosis-associated dyspareunia – Ms. Kiran Parmar
 

2025 – Evaluation of the website content of gynecologic oncology fellowship programs – Ms. Nilita Sood
 

2027 – Retrograde bladder filling after laparoscopic gynecologic surgery: A randomized controlled trial – Dr. Andrew Zakhari